Astral Black share the jam-packed 'Frass FM 4' compilation for free download

Jon Phonics' forward-thinking label Astral Black has today unleashed the fourth edition of its Frass FM compilation series. The sixteen-track beat tape is now available for free download on their Bandcamp. It spans grime, hip hop and jungle, and boasts an impressive international lineup of producers including Bushido, Impey, Polonis, Proc Fiskal, Creep Woland, and Rapture 4D.

Highlights include Barcelona producer Noaipre's glitchy "Frosty Time", a melodic but rugged cut reminiscent of white label grime classics; Bristol newcomer L U C Y's "Moths", a frenzied combination of steel drums and haunting vocal cuts; and TeamSESH affiliate hnrk's floaty hip hop beat "Regenschleier".

A cassette edition, mixed by Birmingham DJ Jossy Mitsu, is also on sale via the link above. Speaking to Trench earlier this week, she explained the label's unconventional approach to putting the mix together:

"I got sent a folder of tunes marked 'Track 1', 'Track 2' etc, and knew I had to make them into two mixes of roughly equal length for the tape. Jon said he didn't send me a tracklist because it might be fun for me to try mixing them without knowing who the artists are... Then I just sat and ordered them by BPM and listened to them on iTunes and tried to think of which ones would mix well together."

You can stream and download the full project below: