J Smart showcases his lyrical dexterity on debut EP 'New Depths'

Following on from our premiere of the Glorz-featuring "Liven Up" on Boxing Day, Essex wordsmith J Smart has returned with his first offering of 2019: debut EP New Depths. Although the seven-track project is largely introspective and centred around the Harlow MC's personal trials and tribulations, he calls on a sizeable team of lyricists for guest verses; SHELLYVNNE members Esskay, Glorz, and Dat Guy Shiesty, Roll Deep legend Manga Saint Hilare, Burst Gang member XP, and renowned wordsmith Darkos Strife all make appearances throughout the project.

Sonically, New Depths varies greatly, with Lolingo providing a pulsating, heavy beat on "The Patternsphere"; Spookzville and Westy utilising an upbeat, string-based melody on "All This Time"; and BOLUS supplying three sparse, ambient instrumentals which give J Smart plenty of room to reflect. On top of that, soulful, uncredited choruses from XP on "My Eyes" and Esskay on "Be Like Them" add an extra dimension to the project and showcase an intriguing new side to the two guest MCs. There's plenty to get stuck into here.

Listen to New Depths in full below, and find J Smart on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram for more updates.